What I am doing now

Just what I am up to


I live in South Africa 🇿🇦


I currently work for Umuzi.


I'm currently preparing to do a hike called the Grand Traverse in the Drakensberg mountains. I've done it once before and it was pretty tough.

Stats from last time:

  • total distance: 270km
  • total time: 10 days

It's one of those wild-camping hikes where you need to carry a tent and all your food.


I have very few 2024 goals. I tend to only plan things out a few months in advance most of the time.

So here are a few things I want to focus on (outside of my main job):

  • Write! A lot! I want to share some of the things I've learned, and I want to do more thinking in public. I have so many things I want to share
  • Conferences and community: In 2023 I was able to attend 4 conferences: Esc@pe, DjangoConfUS, PyConZA and DjangoConfAfrica. It was really amazing. I absolutely love the communities I was interacting with. This year I want to lean into that more and get more involved as a community member
  • Home: I've got a lot of little and big quality or life projects I want to do
  • AfrikaBurn This is the South African version of Burning Man. Last year I was involved in building one of the major artworks. It was an incredible experience and I'm doing it again

If you want to stay up to date, please follow me on my socials. I aim to add value.

Stay up to date

Subscribe to my newsletter. This will be a monthly digest of my latest articles and some other news and goodies.

Did you find this useful? Do you have something to say?

Feedback makes my heart go boom, and I would love to hear from you if you want to talk about this!

Hit me up on the socials :)